February 26, 2009

  • Pho Tau Bay

    Gretna, LA

    I’ve been losing my roots.. When I was younger I use to go eat Pho almost everyday. It’s cheap, delicious, and very satisfying. Lately I’ve been eating back at my childhood spot. The same spot where the owner is a Caucasian-American who speaks fluent Vietnamese and married to a Vietnamese woman. It’s where my mom use to yell at me and tell me stuff like, “That man is white and he speaks better Vietnamese than you do!”.. it’s where ,”Drink up all of the soup or you’ll be punished!” happened. Maybe that’s why I’ve been so reluctant to come back? haha


    Pho Nam Bo Vien

    Well there’s not much to say.. I have the Pho Nam Bo Vien or Beef Soup with Beef Brisket and Vietnamese Meat Balls. It’s the same as I remembered growing up. It’s a clean broth that coats your mouth and sits on your tongue! The beef if tender and the herbs are fresh. I’ve been eating very often, as of late. It’s a shame it took me this long to get back there!

Comments (4)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *