February 11, 2008

  • Joe’s Shanghai again!?





    New York City, New York


    Everytime I visit NYC, I have to eat at Joe’s Shanghai.. And believe it or not this was my very FIRST Chef Eats’ Xanga entry! (Joe’s Shanghai pt. 1So I guess this place had a little something to do my writing about my eats and travels. I’ve heard some people say that it’s overrated or it’s not all that.. It’s my personal opinion but I feel that it does meet and exceed the expectations! The dumplings are flavorful and delicious… and even though it’s always jam packed, the wait is never too long!

    This time around I thought I’d do a little deconstructing of the soup dumplings to give you folks visual of what’s actually being eaten. I obviously  know that my words do it no justice.. haha enjoy! 



    Outside Joe’s Shanghai



    New Menu??





    Is it just me or do they have new menus? Joe’s is getting classy! =)



    The Dumplings!




    The Broth (if you sit in the center of the restaurant, you get that cool neon reflection in your broth lol)




    The Meat




    The Wrap


    So once you get the dumpling into your spoon, you puncture the the bottom of the wrapper with your chopstick and drain the broth into your soup spoon. There’s plenty of precious liquid, so be very careful not to lose any! Secondly, I usually top the meat and the wrap with their ginger vinegar dipping sauce and eat it just before I sip the broth. It’s very refreshing and delicious!


    What do you think of the infamous Soup Dumplings?? Overrated or As advertised?

    eat at Joe’s! lol





    Overall Rating:      (out of 7 )

    yeah I just raised the rating.. I was craving it! haha


    www.joeshanghairestaurants.com





    Chef Eats’ Directory:
    -Click here for MORE Chef Eats’ Entries-

    Updated regularly, So eat up! =)

Comments (24)

  • I love Joe’s Shanghai but I prefer their crab meat with pork soup buns. Much better than the plain pork. In my opinion of course =)

  • I love steamed pork dumplings – mmm. Just curious, what kind of camera do you use?

  • love the dumplings with the crab meat. i think everyone has their own method when eating the dumplings. i eat the dumpling first and soup after too!

  • the last time I ate at Joe’s, my family ordered 5 or 6 baskets the moment we sat down. Before our coats were off our backs and hanging on our chairs, the first 2 baskets had arrived. And within 30 seconds, both baskets were empty. That’s business as usual at Joe’s!

  • I love dumplings! But never been there in NY. Next time I guess. I should. I will. =)

  • the only place that i knew of in phoenix serving xiao long bao [which couldn't compare to ny standards by any means, but what's a desperate girl to do?] took it off their menu.  :(   i threw a fit when i found out.  *sigh*  when will joe’s shanghai expand to my area of the country?  :P  

  • One of my fav cheap eats. Is that in Queens? It doesn’t look like the one in Manh.

  • Have you ever had Drago’s charbroiled oysters? Absolutely delicious beyond words!

  • ToT That looks so good…thanks for another delicious entry!

  • Soup dumpling is not my thing but I like to try out the jumbo ones in China.

  • i cant eat them! they are always stuffed with pork!

  • love the pork dumplings, but i’ve found you have to eat them while they’re hot or the soup inside congeals.

  • Fancy menus.  Chinese places usually have the laminated menus so they’re easy to clean or really dirty paper ones.

    reply: I was in Japan for 10 days.  I think I mainly ate on the trip as I didn’t buy anything there for myself.

  • The best way to eat those dumplings are biting into them and let the soup burst into your mouth! it adds to the texture.

    good dumplings can do something called a “swing”. pick them up with chopsticks and swing them; if they’re good they won’t break/ leak at all.

  • i love soup dumplings. i like the one’s at joe’s but i rather go to goody’s for the soup dumplings (and good food) with no wait!

  • I had soup dumplings there a couple of times years ago, before I started reviewing food, we should definitely go together. I want to see the face behind this wonderful page =D

  • I like the one in Flushing, Queens better. It’s much cleaner.

  • Yum. Soup dumplings are great, though I’ve never had any in the US that compare to the ones I’ve had in Shanghai.

  • can’t get enough of those dumplings can you? :)

  • i personally love adding a little bit of the soy sauce and vinegar into the dumpling after drinking the soup. it gives the pork a little bit more flavor.

  • joe’s shmoe’s. I went there and the dumplings were so-so. skin too thick! it’s all about the ding tai fung! you need to go to Taipei!

  • oh i do love those dumplings.

  • you went to NYC several days after I left?!?! I want your chef job!

  • Everytime i go back to nyc I always always go to joe shanghai
    i love their dumplings!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *